Middle Ages Travel Diary Project: Chicago Citation Style 17th Edition

Use the Notes and Bibliography system, you should include a footnote each time you use a source, whether through a direct quote, paraphrase, or summary. Footnotes should be added at the end of the page on which the source is referenced.  A bibliography is required at the end of the paper with sources listed alphabetically. 

• Footnotes and Bibliography
  • When using the Notes-Bibliography system, you need to use either footnotes (numbered citations that appear at the bottom of each page) Each note corresponds to a raised (superscript) number in the text.¹  (Google Docs - CTRL+. )
  • When you cite a source in a note for the second time, you do not need to put in all the information again: you can use a shortened form (Use Author name only if title is longer than 4 words).   CMOS 17th edition recommends using shortened citations – NOT the abbreviation Ibid.

  • In-text citation: "...his theory of assemblages offers “a sense of the irreducible social complexity characterizing the contemporary world.”⁴⁹

  • Footnote at bottom of page (first use of source):  49. Manuel DeLanda, A New Philosophy of Society: Assemblage Theory and Social Complexity (London: Continuum, 2006), 6. 

  • Susbsequent footnote: 50. DeLanda, 9. (Susbsequent use of the same author should use author's last name NOT Ibid.)

• Shortened Form: 

  • Full citation: (First use of source)  1. David Harvey, “Modernity and Modernism,” in The Condition of Postmodernity: An Enquiry into the Origins of Cultural Change (Malden, MA: Blackwell, 1990), 12.
  •  (Second use of source) 2. Harvey, “Modernity and Modernism,” 12.
  •  (Third) 3. Harvey, 13.
  •  (Fourth) 4. Harvey, 15. (Do not use Ibid.- "in the same source")

• ---

  Bibliography (hanging indent .50in on second and subsequent sentences)

  Book: Last name, First name. Title of Book. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication.

DeLanda, Manuel. A New Philosophy of Society: Assemblage Theory and Social Complexity.London: Continuum, 2006.

Database Journal Article: Last name, First name. "Article Title," Journal Title Volume, no. Issue (Year): page #, DOI OR URL of journal article web page OR Name of database.

Bent, Henry E. "Professionalization of the Ph.D. Degree.” College Composition and Communication 58, no. 4 (2007): 140-145. Accessed December 4, 2017. http://www.jstor.org/stable/1978286.

General format for footnote and bibliography entry:

• Footnote (N):

  1. First name Last name, Title of Book (Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication), page number.

  Corresponding bibliographical entry (B):

  Last name, First name. Title of Book. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication.

• Book by one author 

  N:

  1.  Jack Kerouac, The Dharma Bums (New York: Viking Press, 1958), 128. 
  
  B:
  Kerouac, Jack. The Dharma Bums. New York: Viking Press, 1958.