Use a hanging indent for each citation.
Alphabetize the references by the first Author's last name or by Title, if no Author is listed.
Various examples of formats cited in MLA 9 style.
Author Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. Edition, Publisher, Publication date.
Example:
Tan, Amy. The Kitchen God's Wife. Vintage, 1993.
Two authors:
Levitt, Steven D., and Stephen J. Dubner. Think Like a Freak : the Authors of Freakonomics Offer to Retrain Your Brain. William Morrow, an Imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, 2014.
Three or more authors:
Delēvorrias Angelos, et al. From Byzantium to Modern Greece: Hellenic Art in Adversity, 1453-1830: From the Collections of the Benaki Museum, Athens. Alexander S. Onassis Public Benefit Foundation, 2005.
MLA Handbook, 9th Ed. p.313
Author Last Name, First Name. "Title of Chapter." Title of Book, contribution by First Last, Edition, Publisher, Publication date, Pages.
Example:
Toorn, Penny van, and Daniel Justice. “Aboriginal Writing.” The Cambridge Companion to Canadian Literature, edited by Eva- Marie Kröller, Cambridge UP, 2017, pp. 26–58.
MLA Handbook, 9th Ed. p. 210
Author’s Last name, First name. “Title of chapter or section.” Title of the work. translated by or edited by First name Last name, Vol. number, Publisher, Publication date, page number(s).
Example:
Beowulf. Translated by Alan Sullivan and Timothy Murphy, edited by Sarah Anderson, Pearson, 2004.
MLA Handbook, 9th Ed. p. 147
Author Last Name, First Name. "Article Title." Publication Title, Volume and/or issue number, Publication date, Pages.
Example:
Riddle, Julie. “Shadow Animals.” The Georgia Review, vol. 67, no. 3, fall 2013, pp. 424–47.
MLA Handbook, 9th Ed. p. 178
Author Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Periodical, Day Month Year, pages.
Example:
Buchman, Dana. "A Special Education." Good Housekeeping, Mar. 2006, pp. 143-48.
MLA Handbook, 9th Ed. p.215
Author Last Name, First Name. “Article Title.” Newspaper Title [City of Publication if Not Obvious or Well-Known], Date Month Year Published, Page(s).
Example:
Brubaker, Bill. "New Health Center Targets County's Uninsured Patients." Washington Post, 24 May 2007, p. LZ01.
MLA Handbook, 9th Ed. p. 177
Creator's Last Name, First Name. Title of Work. Creation date. Location of work. Title of Book, Author Name, Publisher, Publication Date, page number.
Example:
Velázquez, Diego. An Old Woman Cooking Eggs. Circa 1618, Scottish National Gallery. The Vanishing Velázquez: A Nineteenth- Century Bookseller’s Obsession with a Lost Masterpiece, by Laura Cumming, Scribner, 2016, p. 27.
MLA Handbook, 9th Ed. p. 332